Dr. Kate Sotejeff-Wilson

Texte mit Aussage – in Medizin und Wissenschaft

Willkommen

Sie möchten auf Englisch publizieren und benötigen eine sprachkundige Person, die Ihre Ansichten perfekt verständlich macht. Das bedeutet, Zeit und Energie zu investieren, um die richtigen Worte zu finden – damit Ihre Ideen die richtigen Leute an den richtigen Stellen erreichen.
Ich bin spezialisiert auf wissenschaftliche Publikationen für ein globales, englischsprachiges Fachpublikum.

Willkommen

Sie möchten auf Englisch publizieren und benötigen eine sprachkundige Person, die Ihre Ansichten perfekt verständlich macht. Das bedeutet, Zeit und Energie zu investieren, um die richtigen Worte zu finden – damit Ihre Ideen die richtigen Leute an den richtigen Stellen erreichen.
Ich bin spezialisiert auf wissenschaftliche Publikationen für ein globales, englischsprachiges Fachpublikum.

Ich biete die folgenden Leistungen an, einzeln oder in Kombination.

Für weitere Hinweise schauen Sie sich bitte den Leitfaden für Kunden des Institute of Translation and Interpreting an: Übersetzung – keine Glücksache 

Übersetzung

Ich kann Ihren Text aus dem Finnischen, Polnischen oder Deutschen ins Englische übersetzen. Als ausgebildete Fachkraft („Qualified Member“) des ITI (MITI) kann ich meine Übersetzungen auch als offizielle Dokumente beglaubigen.

Übersetzungslektorat

Die Prüfung einer englischen Übersetzung gegenüber dem Originaltext. Ich erledige das für Kolleginnen und Kollegen; nach Bedarf kann eine Kollegin oder ein Kollege meine Übersetzungen prüfen.

Lektorat (einsprachig)

Die Prüfung eines auf Englisch geschriebenen Textes auf seine Eignung für einen bestimmten Zweck hin. Beinhaltet mehr als Korrektorat, nämlich auch Stilistik, Grammatik, Syntax und Verzeichnisse.

Korrektorat

Die Prüfung von Inhalten in englischer Sprache und die Durchführung von Korrekturen vor dem Druck. Dies ist der letzte Arbeitsschritt nach dem Lektorat oder Übersetzungslektorat und daher weniger umfangreich.

Diese Definitionen sind dem ISO 17100 Standard für Übersetzungsdienste nachempfunden. Es gelten die Geschäftsbedingungen der Finnish Association of Translators and Interpreters.

Für welche Art von Text brauchen Sie meine Hilfe?
Dies sind meine Spezialgebiete:

WISSENSCHAFT

  • Dissertationen
  • Forschungsanträge
  • Beiträge in Fachzeitschriften
  • Monografien (ein/e oder mehrere Verfasser/innen)

MEDIZIN

  • Klinische und biomedizinische Forschungspublikationen
  • Pharmaka und Medizinprodukte: Fachinformationen, Patienteninformationen, SOPs
  • Nationale und europäische (EMA) regulatorische Unterlagen, z. B. für Zulassungen
  • Positionspapiere und Marketingmaterialien, z. B. Pressemeldungen, Blogs
  • Patienten- und Krankenhausakten

Wer wird den Text lesen?
Ich arbeite mit Institutionen in ganz Europa, unter anderem:

  • Universitäten von Warschau, Stettin, Helsinki, Jyväskylä, Ostfinnland, Genf sowie University College London
  • Aalto University, Helsinki
  • Lappeenranta University of Technology
  • Technische Universität Dresden
  • Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland (EKD)
  • Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung, Marburg
  • Böckler-Mare-Balticum-Stiftung, Berlin
  • Stiftung für Polnische Wissenschaft

Referenzen

Das Kapitel liest sich ausgezeichnet. Man hat gar nicht das Gefühl, dass es sich um eine Übersetzung handelt.

Dr. Melanie Rohner, Departement für Deutsche Sprache und Literatur, Universität Genf

Ein akademischer Text ist die präzise Ausformulierung einer wissenschaftlichen Idee. Somit ist eine Übersetzung keine mechanische Übertragung von Worten von einer Sprache in die andere. Es ist eine komplizierte Interpretationsaufgabe, bei der der Forschende versucht, seine oder ihre Ideen in Text zu fassen, und die bearbeitende Person muss sich der neuesten Diskussionen und konzeptionellen Theorien dieses speziellen Forschungsfeldes bestens bewusst sein. Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson verbessert meine Texte seit vielen Jahren, nicht nur weil sie eine Expertin der Sprache ist, sondern auch, weil sie mein Arbeitsgebiet gut kennt. Ich bin stolz auf die Ergebnisse, und das Feedback meiner Kolleginnen und Kollegen war sehr positiv. Deshalb habe ich andere Sprachanbieter abgelehnt, obwohl meine Universität Großanbieter bevorzugen wollte. Sprache ist Teil meiner Wissenschaft, daher wähle ich das Lektorat oder publiziere nicht. Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson war meine beste Entscheidung.

Prof. Jukka Korpela, Professor für Geschichte, Universität Ostfinnland

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat die zwölf Beiträge meiner Anthologie “Meanings of an Urban Space” (2016) redigiert und übersetzt. Der sprachliche Hintergrund der Autorinnen und Autoren war sehr vielfältig, dennoch war das Resultat ihrer Arbeit ein sehr ausgewogener und einheitlicher Stil. Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson war sehr flexibel in der Zusammenarbeit und ich kann sie als Übersetzerin und Lektorin wissenschaftlicher Texte wärmstens weiterempfehlen.

Prof. Kimmo Katajala, Professor für Geschichte, Universität Ostfinnland

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat ausgezeichnete Übersetzungen aus dem Polnischen ins Englische für das Projekt Der Osten schaut nach Westenhergestellt und damit Osteuropäische Reisegeschichten für ein englischsprachiges Publikum dargestellt. Ihre Übersetzungen decken eine breite Auswahl an Stilen und Zeitaltern ab – alle wurden mit höchster Professionalität geliefert.

Prof. Wendy Bracewell, Professorin für Geschichte, East Looks West ProjectSSEESUniversity College London

Ich arbeite mit Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson seit ihrem ersten Aufenthalt in Posen im Jahr 1999 zusammen. Sie hat fur mich Bücher ins Englische übersetzt, u. a. Stettin: Kurze Stadtgeschichte (Posen: PTPN 2002), Artikel und englische Zusammenfassungen, etwa kürzlich für Krieg, Erinnerung, Identität: Über Schlachten und Schlachtmythen  (Wojna, pamięć, tożsamość. O bitwach i mitach bitewnych, Warszawa: Bellona 2013). Ich empfehle Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson wärmstens als Übersetzerin aus dem Polnischen.

Prof. J. M. Piskorski, Professor für Geschichte, Universität Stettin, Direktor, PTPN Verlag Posen

 

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat für unsere NRO Übersetzungen von höchster Qualität geliefert. Wir arbeiten gerne mit ihr zusammen, da sie sich in verschiedenste Kontexte schnell eindenken kann, das angemessene Vokabular parat hat und stets zuverlässig arbeitet.

Dr. Silke Lechner, Studienleiterin, Deutscher Evangelischer Kirchentag

Ich danke Ihnen ganz herzlich für die englischsprachige Redaktion dieses gewiss nicht einfachen Textes. Ich würde mich sehr freuen, wenn Sie der Zeitschrift für Ostmitteleuropa-Forschung auch weiterhin für Übersetzungs- und Redaktionsarbeiten zur Verfügung stehen würden.

Dr. Christoph Schutte, Das Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung

Ich war sehr zufrieden mit der Ausführlichkeit und Erkenntis Ihrer Arbeit! Ich werde Ihre Dienstleistungen in einer ähnlichen Situation auf jeden Fall weiterempfehlen.

Päivi Pylkkänen, Projektleiterin, Ruralia InstitutUniversität Helsinki

 

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat MBA- und Doktorarbeiten und Artikel für Publikationen in wissenschaftlichen Fachschriften für das Laboratorium der Grünen Chemie redigiert. Sie liest immer sorgfältig und genau Korrektur, und sie reagiert immer schnell auch bei kurzfristigen Terminen. Sie scheut keine Mühe, den wissenschaftlichen Inhalt unserer Arbeit für ein internationales Fachpublikum exakt darzustellen.

Prof. Mika Sillanpää, Direktor, Laboratorium der Grüne Green ChemieTechnische Universität Lappeenranta

 

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat meinen wissenschaftlichen Beitrag vom Finnischen ins Englische übersetzt. Die Zusammenarbeit mit ihr war sehr einfach: sie war pünktlich und die Kommunikation mit ihr war in jedem Arbeitsschritt völlig problemlos. Ihr akademischer Hintergrund zeigte sich in der Übersetzung eines sehr spezifischen Fachgebiets: sie scheute keine Mühen, um Spezialbegriffe zu klären. Ich empfehle sie wärmstens für ähnliche Projekte!

Dr. Hanna Tervanotko, Juniorprofessorin für Religionswissenschaft, McMaster University, Ontario

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat zahlreiche meiner akademischen Texte (Beiträge, Promotion, Anträge) redigiert, so dass ich ihre Arbeit rundum empfehlen kann. All ihre Aufträge wurden schnell bearbeitet und waren von verlässlich hoher Qualität. Ich habe viel aus unserer Zusammenarbeit gelernt – da ich finnische Muttersprachlerin bin, hat sie mich in der unterschiedlichen stilistischen Betonung der Wortwahl beraten und mir geholfen, exakt den richtigen Ton zu treffen.

Dr. Suvi-Maria Saarelainen, Postdoc, Universität Helsinki

Ich kenne Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson seit meinem Promotionsstudium. Sie hat meine akademischen Artikel ebenso wie meine Promotion sorgfältig redigiert und spezielle wissenschaftliche Fachbegriffe in vielen Fällen zweifach überprüft. Ergebnis war eine genaue und schnelle sprachliche Überarbeitung. Ich würde sie wärmstens auch für Ihren Text empfehlen!

Dr. Shila Jafari, Postdoc, Aalto Universität, Helsinki

Dr. Kate Sotejeff-Wilson überbeitete meine Doktorarbeit sprachlich sehr schnell und professionell. Für mich war es eine gute Gelegenheit, mithilfe ihrer Vorschläge und Korrekturen meine eigenen Englischkenntnisse zu verbessern. Ich empfehle Ihnen wärmstens, sie auch über Ihren englischen Text gehen zu lassen, wann immer Sie es benötigen.

Dr. Heikki Särkkä, Postdoc, Xamk-Fachhochschule Südostfinnland

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat meine Texte (Buchkapitel, Manuskripte, Stipendien- und Buchexposés) in höchster Qualität redigiert. Ich bin sehr glücklich mit ihrer genauen Arbeitsweise und ihrer Professionalität. Sie arbeitet außerdem schnell auch in engen Zeitplänen. Ich empfehle sie wirklich für englischsprachige Überarbeitungen.

Dr. Ratih Adiputri, Postdoc, Universität von Jyväskylä

Großartige Arbeit, immer stilistisch perfekt und pünktlich.

Dr. Sander Münster, Abteilungsleiter, Abteilung Mediendesign und -produktion, Technische Universität Dresden

Dr. Kate Sotejeff-Wilson ist eine wunderbare Übersetzerin, die jeden Text so bearbeiten kann, dass er klar und überzeugend wird. Ich fühle mich im Kontakt mit amerikanischen Wissenschaftsverlagen sicher, weil ich weiß, dass ich immer auf ihren Rat und ihre schnelle Hilfe in schwierigen sprachlichen Fragen zählen kann. Gemeinsam haben wir eine hundertseitige Kurzversion meiner Monografie Paratheory über die Kritische Theorie und Kunstgeschichte in Kalifornien bearbeitet.
Freundliche und kompetente Spezialistin.
Sehr zu empfehlen!

Dr. Ewa Bobrowska, Abteilung Medienkunst, Akademie der Bildenden Künste Warschau

Referenzen

Dr. Melanie Rohner

Das Kapitel liest sich ausgezeichnet. Man hat gar nicht das Gefühl, dass es sich um eine Übersetzung handelt.

Dr. Melanie Rohner, Departement für Deutsche Sprache und Literatur, Universität Genf 

Professor Jukka Korpela

Ein akademischer Text ist die präzise Ausformulierung einer wissenschaftlichen Idee. Somit ist eine Übersetzung keine mechanische Übertragung von Worten von einer Sprache in die andere. Es ist eine komplizierte Interpretationsaufgabe, bei der der Forschende versucht, seine oder ihre Ideen in Text zu fassen, und die bearbeitende Person muss sich der neuesten Diskussionen und konzeptionellen Theorien dieses speziellen Forschungsfeldes bestens bewusst sein. Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson verbessert meine Texte seit vielen Jahren, nicht nur weil sie eine Expertin der Sprache ist, sondern auch, weil sie mein Arbeitsgebiet gut kennt. Ich bin stolz auf die Ergebnisse, und das Feedback meiner Kolleginnen und Kollegen war sehr positiv. Deshalb habe ich andere Sprachanbieter abgelehnt, obwohl meine Universität Großanbieter bevorzugen wollte. Sprache ist Teil meiner Wissenschaft, daher wähle ich das Lektorat oder publiziere nicht. Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson war meine beste Entscheidung.

Prof. Jukka Korpela, Professor für Geschichte, Universität Ostfinnland

Prof. Kimmo Katajala

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat die zwölf Beiträge meiner Anthologie “Meanings of an Urban Space” (2016) redigiert und übersetzt. Der sprachliche Hintergrund der Autorinnen und Autoren war sehr vielfältig, dennoch war das Resultat ihrer Arbeit ein sehr ausgewogener und einheitlicher Stil. Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson war sehr flexibel in der Zusammenarbeit und ich kann sie als Übersetzerin und Lektorin wissenschaftlicher Texte wärmstens weiterempfehlen.

Prof. Kimmo Katajala, Professor für Geschichte, Universität Ostfinnland

Prof. Wendy Bracewell

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat ausgezeichnete Übersetzungen aus dem Polnischen ins Englische für das Projekt Der Osten schaut nach Westenhergestellt und damit Osteuropäische Reisegeschichten für ein englischsprachiges Publikum dargestellt. Ihre Übersetzungen decken eine breite Auswahl an Stilen und Zeitaltern ab – alle wurden mit höchster Professionalität geliefert.

Prof. Wendy Bracewell, Professorin für Geschichte, East Looks West ProjectSSEESUniversity College London

mehr lesen

Ich arbeite mit Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson seit ihrem ersten Aufenthalt in Posen im Jahr 1999 zusammen. Sie hat Bücher übesetzt, auch z.B. meine Stettin: Kurze Stadtgeschichte (Posen: PTPN 2002), Artikel und englische Zusammenfassungen, neulich für Krieg, Errinerung, Identität: Über Schlachten und Schlachtmythen  (Wojna, pamięć, tożsamość. O bitwach i mitach bitewnych, Warszawa: Bellona 2013). Ich empfehle Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson im Brustton der Überzeugung als Übersetzerin aus dem Polnischen.

Prof. J. M. Piskorski, Professor für Geschichte, Universität Stettin, Direktor, PTPN Verlag Posen

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat für unsere NRO Übersetzungen von höchster Qualität geliefert. Wir arbeiten gerne mit ihr zusammen, da sie sich in verschiedenste Kontexte schnell eindenken kann, das angemessene Vokabular parat hat und stets zuverlässig arbeitet.

Dr. Silke Lechner, Studienleiterin, Deutscher Evangelischer Kirchentag

Ich danke Ihnen ganz herzlich für die englischsprachige Redaktion dieses gewiss nicht einfachen Textes. Ich würde mich sehr freuen, wenn Sie der Zeitschrift für Ostmitteleuropa-Forschung auch weiterhin für Übersetzungs- und Redaktionsarbeiten zur Verfügung stehen würden.

Dr. Christoph Schutte, Das Herder-Institut für historische Ostmitteleuropaforschung

Ich war sehr zufrieden mit der Ausführlichkeit und Erkenntis Ihrer Arbeit! Ich werde auf jeden Fall deine Dienstleistungen in jeder ähnlichen Situation weiterempfehlen.“

Päivi Pylkkänen, Projektleiterin, Ruralia InstitutUniversität Helsinki

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat MBA- und Doktorarbeiten und Artikel für Publikationen in wissenschaftlichen Fachschriften für das Laboratorium der Grüne Chemie redigiert. Ihr Korrekturlesen ist immer sorgfältig und genau, und sie reagiert immer schnell auch zu kurzfristigen Terminen. Sie scheut keine Mühe, den wissenschaftlichen Inhalt unserer Arbeit genau für ein internationales Fachpublikum darzustellen.

Prof. Mika Sillanpää, Direktor, Laboratorium der Grüne Green ChemieTechnische Universität Lappeenranta

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat meinen wissenschaftlichen Beitrag vom Finnischen ins Englische übersetzt. Die Zusammenarbeit mit ihr war sehr einfach: sie war pünktlich und die Kommunikation mit ihr war in jedem Arbeitsschritt völlig problemlos. Ihr akademischer Hintergrund zeigte sich in der Übersetzung eines sehr spezifischen Fachgebiets: sie scheute keine Mühen, um Spezialbegriffe zu klären. Ich empfehle sie wärmstens für ähnliche Projekte!

Dr. Hanna Tervanotko, Juniorprofessorin für Religionswissenschaft, McMaster University, Ontario

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat zahlreiche meiner akademischen Texte (Beiträge, Promotion, Anträge) redigiert, so dass ich ihre Arbeit rundum empfehlen kann. All ihre Aufträge wurden schnell bearbeitet und waren von verlässlich hoher Qualität. Ich habe viel aus unserer Zusammenarbeit gelernt – da ich finnische Muttersprachlerin bin, hat sie mich in der unterschiedlichen stilistischen Betonung der Wortwahl beraten und mir geholfen, exakt den richtigen Ton zu treffen.

Dr. Suvi-Maria Saarelainen, Postdoc, Universität Helsinki

Ich kenne Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson seit meinem Promotionsstudium. Sie hat meine akademischen Artikel ebenso wie meine Promotion sorgfältig redigiert und spezielle wissenschaftliche Fachbegriffe in vielen Fällen zweifach überprüft. Ergebnis war eine genaue und schnelle sprachliche Überarbeitung. Ich würde sie wärmstens auch für Ihren Text empfehlen!

Dr. Shila Jafari, Postdoc, Aalto Universität, Helsinki 

Dr. Kate Sotejeff-Wilson überbeitete meine Doktorarbeit sprachlich sehr schnell und professionell. Für mich war es eine gute Gelegenheit, mithilfe ihrer Vorschläge und Korrekturen meine eigenen Englischkenntnisse zu verbessern. Ich empfehle Ihnen wärmstens, sie auch über Ihren englischen Text gehen zu lassen, wann immer Sie es benötigen.

Dr. Heikki Särkkä, Postdoc, Xamk-Fachhochschule Südostfinnland

Dr. Sotejeff-Wilson hat meine Texte (Kapitel, Manuskript, Stipendien- und Buchexposés) in höchster Qualität redigiert. Ich bin sehr glücklich mit ihrer genauen Arbeitsweise und ihrer Professionalität. Sie arbeitet außerdem schnell auch in engen Zeitplänen. Ich empfehle sie wirklich für englischsprachige Überarbeitungen.

Dr. Ratih Adiputri, Postdoc, Universität von Jyväskylä

Großartige Arbeit, immer stilistisch perfekt und pünktlich.

Dr. Sander Münster, Abteilungsleiter, Abteilung Mediendesign und -produktion, Technische Universität Dresden

Dr. Kate Sotejeff-Wilson ist eine wunderbare Übersetzerin, die jeden Text so bearbeiten kann, dass er klar und überzeugend wird. Ich fühle mich im Kontakt mit amerikanischen Wissenschaftsverlagen sicher, weil ich weiß, dass ich immer auf ihren Rat und ihre schnelle Hilfe in schwierigen sprachlichen Fragen zählen kann. Gemeinsam haben wir eine hundertseitige Kurzversion meiner Monografie Paratheory über die Kritische Theorie und Kunstgeschichte in Kalifornien bearbeitet.
Freundliche und kompetente Spezialistin.
Sehr zu empfehlen!

Dr. Ewa Bobrowska, Abteilung Medienkunst, Akademie der Bildenden Künste Warschau

Hallo, ich bin Kate!

Wie kann ich Ihnen helfen? An was für einer Art von Text arbeiten Sie? Wer wird ihn lesen?
E-mailen Sie mir Ihre Datei für einen schnellen und präzisen Kostenvoranschlag.

E-Mail: connect@kswtranslations.com
Telefon: +358 (0) 44 9977009
Mein Profil auf LinkedIn

Geschäftszeiten: 9 bis 18 Uhr OEZ
Umsatzsteuer-ID: FI24985115

Ich freue mich auf Ihre Nachricht!

Bitte bestätigen Sie, dass Sie den Hinweis zum Datenschutz gelesen haben.

10 + 13 =


©2017-2018 Dr. Kate Sotejeff-Wilson | Eine Website von WP for Translators | Impressum | Datenschutz

Share This

Dr Kate Sotejeff-Wilson

Texts that change minds – medical and academic

Welcome

You want to publish in English, and you need a linguist who will get your meaning across perfectly. That means investing time and energy in choosing the right words – so your ideas reach the right people in the right places.
I specialise in research publications for an expert, global, English-speaking audience.

Welcome

You want to publish in English, and you need a linguist who will get your meaning across perfectly. That means investing time and energy in choosing the right words – so your ideas reach the right people in the right places.
I specialise in research publications for an expert, global, English-speaking audience.

I provide the following services, alone or in combination.

For more advice, see the Institute of Translation and Interpreting guide for buyers, Translation: Getting it right.

Translation

I can translate your text from Finnish, Polish, or German into English. As a Qualified Member of the ITI (MITI), I can also certify my translations of official documents.

Revision (bilingual)

Examining an English translation against the original text to ensure it is fit for purpose. I do this for colleagues; a colleague can revise my translations on request.

Editing (monolingual)

Examining text written in English for its suitability for the agreed purpose. This means more than proofreading, including style, grammar, syntax and register.

Proofreading

Examining English language content and applying corrections before printing. This is the final check after editing or revision, and therefore less substantial.

These definitions are adapted from the ISO 17100 standard for translation services. Finnish Association of Translators and Interpreters Terms and Conditions apply.

What sort of text do you need help with?
These are my areas of expertise:

ACADEMIC

  • PhD theses
  • Research proposals
  • Journal articles
  • Books (single or multiple authors)

MEDICAL

  • Clinical and biomedical research publications
  • Pharmaceuticals and medical devices: SPCs, PILs, SOPs
  • National and EMA regulatory documents e.g. for marketing authorisations
  • Policy papers and marketing materials e.g. press releases, blogs
  • Patient records and hospital reports

Who is going to read it?
I work with institutions across Europe, including:

  • The universities of Warsaw, Szczecin, Helsinki, Jyväskylä, Eastern Finland, Geneva and University College London
  • Aalto University, Helsinki
  • Lappeenranta University of Technology
  • Technical University of Dresden
  • Evangelical Church in Germany (EKD)
  • Herder Institute for Historical Research on East Central Europe, Marburg
  • Böckler Mare Balticum Foundation, Berlin
  • The Foundation for Polish Science.

Testimonials

The chapter reads beautifully. It doesn’t feel like a translation at all.

Dr Melanie Rohner, Department of German Language and Literature, University of Geneva

A scholarly text is the precise formulation of a scientific idea. Therefore a translation is not a mechanical transformation of words from one language to another. It is a complicated work of interpretation where the scholar tries to set out his or her ideas in a text and the person editing the language must be well aware of the latest discussions and conceptual theories in that particular field. Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has improved my texts for many years, because she is not only the expert in the language but knows my field well.  I am proud of the results and the feedback from my colleagues has been positive. Therefore I have refused to use any other language services although my university has also tried to use large-scale tenders. The language is a part of my scholarship and therefore I choose the language editor or I do not publish. Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has been my best choice.

Professor Jukka Korpela, Professor of History, University of Eastern Finland 

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson edited and translated the twelve articles for my anthology “Meanings of an Urban Space” (2016). The linguistic background of the authors was very diverse, yet the result of her work was a very balanced and unified style. Dr Sotejeff-Wilson was very flexible to work with and I can warmly recommend her as a translator and language editor of academic texts.

Professor Kimmo Katajala, Professor of History, University of Eastern Finland

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson produced marvellous translations from Polish for the East Looks West project, presenting East European travel writing to an Anglophone audience.  Her translations ranged over a whole range of styles and periods – all delivered with the utmost professionalism.

Prof. Wendy Bracewell, East Looks West ProjectSSEESUniversity College London

I have been working with Dr Sotejeff-Wilson since 1999. She translated books such as my A Short History of Szczecin (Poznań: PTPN 2002) articles and English summaries for books I have edited, most recently War, Memory, Identity. On Battles and Battle Myths (Wojna, pamięć, tożsamość. O bitwach i mitach bitewnych”, Warszawa: Bellona 2013). I wholeheartedly recommend Dr Sotejeff-Wilson as a translator from Polish.

Prof. J. M. Piskorski, Szczecin University, Director, PTPN Publishing Poznań

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has delivered translations of the highest quality for our NGO. We are eager to work with her because in a wide variety of contexts she quickly understands what is needed, is ready with the appropriate technical terms and is always reliable.

Dr Silke Lechner, Programme Director, German Protestant Kirchentag

I am most grateful to you for the English edition of what was certainly not an easy text. I would be very pleased to use your translation and editing services again at the Journal of East Central European Research.

Dr Christoph Schutte, Herder Institute for Historical Research on East Central Europe

I was very happy with the detail and insight of your work! I will definitely recommend your services in any similar situation.

Päivi Pylkkänen, Senior Planning Officer, Ruralia InstituteUniversity of Helsinki

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has edited MBA and PhD theses and articles for publication in scientific journals for the Laboratory of Green Chemistry. Her language revisions are precise and accurate, and the response time is always rapid despite tight deadlines. Every effort is made to present the scientific content of our work correctly to an international specialist audience.

Prof. Mika Sillanpää, Director, Laboratory of Green ChemistryLappeenranta University of Technology

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson translated my academic article from Finnish into English. Working with her was easy: she was punctual and communication was smooth at all stages of the process. Her academic background showed through in the translation of a very specific field of expertise: she made every effort to clarify the specialist terminology. I warmly recommend her for similar projects!

Dr Hanna Tervanotko, Assistant Professor of Religious Studies, McMaster University, Ontario

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has revised many of my academic texts (articles, PhD summary book, applications), so I can fully recommend her services. All of her work has been promptly delivered and of reliably high quality. I have learned a lot from our collaboration – as I am a native Finnish speaker, she has advised me on the different stylistic emphasis of word selection and helped me to find exactly the right tone of voice.

Dr Suvi-Maria Saarelainen, Postdoctoral researcher, University of Helsinki

I have known Dr Sotejeff-Wilson since my PhD studies. She revised my scientific papers and also PhD thesis carefully and in many cases double-checked specific scientific terminology. An accurate and fast language revision was achieved. I would highly recommend her to check your text, too!

Dr Shila Jafari, Postdoctoral researcher, Aalto University, Helsinki

Dr Kate Sotejeff-Wilson revised the language of my PhD thesis in a very fast and professional way. It was a good chance for me to see her suggestions and corrections to improve my own English skills. I warmly recommend her to go through your English text as well whenever you need it.

Dr Heikki Särkkä, Postdoctoral researcher, South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences – XAMK 

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson edited my English texts (chapters, manuscript, funding and book proposals) with the highest quality. I am really happy with her detailed work and professionalism. She also works fast even to a tight schedule. I really recommend her for English language revisions.

Dr Ratih Adiputri, Postdoctoral researcher, University of Jyväskylä

Great work, always perfect in style and on time.

Dr Sander Münster, Head of Department, Media Design and Media Production, Technical University of Dresden

Dr Kate Sotejeff-Wilson is a wonderful translator; she is able to make every text clear and convincing. I feel confident corresponding with American academic publishers because I can always count on her advice and rapid response to solve difficult linguistic issues. Together we worked on a 100-page short version of my monograph, Paratheory, on Californian critical theory and art history.

She is a friendly and competent specialist. Highly recommended!

Dr Ewa Bobrowska, Department of Media Arts, Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw

Testimonials

Dr Melanie Rohner

The chapter reads beautifully. It doesn’t feel like a translation at all.

Dr Melanie Rohner, Department of German Language and Literature, University of Geneva

Professor Jukka Korpela

A scholarly text is the precise formulation of a scientific idea. Therefore a translation is not a mechanical transformation of words from one language to another. It is a complicated work of interpretation where the scholar tries to set out his or her ideas in a text and the person editing the language must be well aware of the latest discussions and conceptual theories in that particular field. Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has improved my texts for many years, because she is not only the expert in the language but knows my field well.  I am proud of the results and the feedback from my colleagues has been positive. Therefore I have refused to use any other language services although my university has also tried to use large-scale tenders. The language is a part of my scholarship and therefore I choose the language editor or I do not publish. Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has been my best choice.

Professor Jukka Korpela, Professor of History, University of Eastern Finland 

Prof. Kimmo Katajala

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson edited and translated the twelve articles for my anthology “Meanings of an Urban Space” (2016). The linguistic background of the authors was very diverse, yet the result of her work was a very balanced and unified style. Dr Sotejeff-Wilson was very flexible to work with and I can warmly recommend her as a translator and language editor of academic texts.

Professor Kimmo Katajala, Professor of History, University of Eastern Finland

Prof. Wendy Bracewell

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson produced marvellous translations from Polish for the East Looks West project, presenting East European travel writing to an Anglophone audience.  Her translations ranged over a whole range of styles and periods – all delivered with the utmost professionalism.

Prof. Wendy Bracewell, East Looks West ProjectSSEESUniversity College London

read more

I have been working with Dr Sotejeff-Wilson since 1999. She translated books such as my A Short History of Szczecin (Poznań: PTPN 2002) articles and English summaries for books I have edited, most recently War, Memory, Identity. On Battles and Battle Myths (Wojna, pamięć, tożsamość. O bitwach i mitach bitewnych”, Warszawa: Bellona 2013). I wholeheartedly recommend Dr Sotejeff-Wilson as a translator from Polish.

Prof. J. M. Piskorski, Szczecin University, Director, PTPN Publishing Poznań

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has delivered translations of the highest quality for our NGO. We are eager to work with her because in a wide variety of contexts she quickly understands what is needed, is ready with the appropriate technical terms and is always reliable.

Dr Silke Lechner, Programme Director, German Protestant Kirchentag

I am most grateful to you for the English edition of what was certainly not an easy text. I would be very pleased to use your translation and editing services again at the Journal of East Central European Research.

Dr Christoph Schutte, Herder Institute for Historical Research on East Central Europe

I was very happy with the detail and insight of your work! I will definitely recommend your services in any similar situation.

Päivi Pylkkänen, Senior Planning Officer, Ruralia InstituteUniversity of Helsinki

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has edited MBA and PhD theses and articles for publication in scientific journals for the Laboratory of Green Chemistry. Her language revisions are precise and accurate, and the response time is always rapid despite tight deadlines. Every effort is made to present the scientific content of our work correctly to an international specialist audience.

Prof. Mika Sillanpää, Director, Laboratory of Green ChemistryLappeenranta University of Technology

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson translated my academic article from Finnish into English. Working with her was easy: she was punctual and communication was smooth at all stages of the process. Her academic background showed through in the translation of a very specific field of expertise: she made every effort to clarify the specialist terminology. I warmly recommend her for similar projects!

Dr Hanna Tervanotko, Assistant Professor of Religious Studies, McMaster University, Ontario 

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson has revised many of my academic texts (articles, PhD summary book, applications), so I can fully recommend her services. All of her work has been promptly delivered and of reliably high quality. I have learned a lot from our collaboration – as I am a native Finnish speaker, she has advised me on the different stylistic emphasis of word selection and helped me to find exactly the right tone of voice.

Dr Suvi-Maria Saarelainen, Postdoctoral researcher, University of Helsinki 

I have known Dr Sotejeff-Wilson since my PhD studies. She revised my scientific papers and also PhD thesis carefully and in many cases double-checked specific scientific terminology. An accurate and fast language revision was achieved. I would highly recommend her to check your text, too!

Dr Shila Jafari, Postdoctoral researcher, Aalto University, Helsinki 

Dr Kate Sotejeff-Wilson revised the language of my PhD thesis in a very fast and professional way. It was a good chance for me to see her suggestions and corrections to improve my own English skills. I warmly recommend her to go through your English text as well whenever you need it.

Dr Heikki Särkkä, Postdoctoral researcher, South-Eastern Finland University of Applied Sciences – XAMK 

Dr Sotejeff-Wilson edited my English texts (chapters, manuscript, funding and book proposals) with the highest quality. I am really happy with her detailed work and professionalism. She also works fast even to a tight schedule. I really recommend her for English language revisions.

Dr Ratih Adiputri, Postdoctoral researcher, University of Jyväskylä 

Great work, always perfect in style and on time.

Dr Sander Münster, Head of Department, Media Design and Media Production, Technical University of Dresden

Dr Kate Sotejeff-Wilson is a wonderful translator; she is able to make every text clear and convincing. I feel confident corresponding with American academic publishers because I can always count on her advice and rapid response to solve difficult linguistic issues. Together we worked on a 100-page short version of my monograph, Paratheory, on Californian critical theory and art history.
She is a friendly and competent specialist.
Highly recommended!

Dr Ewa Bobrowska, Department of Media Arts, Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw

Hello, I am Kate!

How can I help you? What sort of text are you working on? Who is going to read it? Email me your document for a rapid and precise quotation.

Email: connect@kswtranslations.com
Phone: +358 (0) 44 9977009
Connect on LinkedIn

Office hours 9 am – 6 pm EET
VAT ID: FI24985115

Get in touch - it’ll be a pleasure to hear from you

Please confirm

2 + 3 =


©2017 - 2018 Dr Kate Sotejeff-Wilson | Designed by WP for Translators | Legal notice and privacy policy

Share This